Salmon Kedgeree

19 Feb

Ok it does sound a little bit intimidating, which I felt myself because it’s a new term for me. Perhaps it was a new style or method of preparing or cooking food or a different combination or set of ingredients known as the “kedgeree”. I didn’t know completely until I referred to my bible a.k.a gordon’s “makes it easy” book. It did appear simple to make. Yes it was actually simple. According to dictionary.com which has been extremely handy to me lately as I’ve been hooked with bourdain’s book from which thirty to forty percent of the time, he uses a not so typical word. Thankfully though it is a well loved book by me as his writing is tastefully humorous and hysterical at times. No. Most of the time. Tony thank you for filling up my lonely moments even if you were in the midst of killing a pig.. it was still very well written.. and detailed.

A kedgeree is a cooked dish consisting of rice, lentils, and spices. A cooked dish of rice, fish, hard-boiled eggs, butter, cream, and seasonings. Yes it was more like the latter one. I found the eggs the most challenging one to prepare because I always miscalculate the right moment to get it out of the pot to achieve the just-perfectly-hard-boiled egg asked for in the recipe. Anyway I was still happy even though I failed in all my tries out of four eggs, the last egg seemed to be quite photogenic.

I used salmon for the fish and turmeric and saffron to give the rice its bright and lovely colour. For the saffron I made sure I still have enough left for my next cooking sessions. Yes that was plural.

20120219-203422.jpg

4 Responses to “Salmon Kedgeree”

  1. Pia Yanes February 20, 2012 at 1:47 am #

    You should study culinary arts or join MasterChef NZ. I admire your passion for cooking and food πŸ™‚ keep it up Chef!

  2. amcoballes February 20, 2012 at 12:36 pm #

    hehe thank you naman πŸ™‚

  3. helen g March 26, 2012 at 2:09 pm #

    Thanks! I learned a new word πŸ™‚ Is kedgeree an english dish?

    • amcoballes March 26, 2012 at 5:20 pm #

      the word kedgeree itself is brit but the dish’s origin is east india

Leave a Reply

